Located within the Inner Ward of Carlisle Castle, the Museum relates the history of Cumbria’s County Infantry Regiment, the Border Regiment (34th & 55th Foot) and its successor The King’s Own Royal Border Regiment, local Militia, Volunteer and Territorial Army units from 1702 to the present day. Wide ranging displays on two floors include uniforms, weapons, equipment, medals, silver, pictures, memorabilia, and a recreated WW1 trench and other dioramas.
The Castle, founded in 1092, is a superb medieval fortress owned by the Crown and maintained by English Heritage. It can boast almost continuous military occupation for 900 years and preserve within its walls are the nineteenth-century barracks and military buildings used by The Border Regimental Depot from 1873 to 1959. The museum has extensive archives. Family history and other enquiries are welcome, personal callers preferably by appointment. For detailed research, a minimum donation will be sought.
Duke of Lancaster’s Regiment (King’s, Lancashire & Border), King’s Own Royal Border Regiment, Border Regiment, 34th (Cumberland) Regiment of Foot, 34th Regiment of Foot, Lord Lucas’s Regiment of Foot, 55th (Westmoreland) Regiment Foot, 55th Regiment of Foot, 57th Regiment of Foot (Colonel George Perry),, Royal Cumberland Militia, Cumberland Militia, Royal Westmorland Light Infantry Militia, Westmorland Militia, Cumberland & Westmorland Rifle Volunteers, Cumberland Artillery.
North side of city centre, 15 mins walk from station. By car, exit M6 at J43 or 44.
Coach and car parking can be found adjacent to the museum.
Some disabled access is provided.
Restaurant/Cafe, Lecture Room, Disabled Access, Toilets, Shop, Education Service
The Castle, Carlisle, UK CA3 8UR
10:00 AM - 06:00 PM