The Museum houses the Duke of Wellington’s Regimental Collection. This illustrates the history of the Regiment from the raising of the 33rd Foot in 1702 and the 76th Foot in 1787 to the present day. The Museum has undergone a recent redesign to tell the story of the Regiment ‘through the eyes’ of the soldiers who served in it. There is a strong emphasis on the unique traditions of the Regiment and its links with the West Riding of Yorkshire.
Each period case focuses on two or three soldiers and tells their story in their own words through recordings and displays of their life in “The Dukes”. Other exhibits relate to the local Volunteer, Militia and Territorial Forces and there are display of objects associated with the Iron Duke himself and the Regiment’s heritage as a name synonymous with Rugby in the British Army.
Modern museum techniques using audio recordings and touch screen computers enable access the Regimental photographic collection. Access to the Regimental archive is by appointment.
1688-1751: Archibald Douglas’s Regiment of Foot; 1751-1881: 16th Regiment of Foot; 1881-1919: The Bedfordshire Regiment; 1919-1958: The Bedfordshire & Hertfordshire Regiment.
1 mile from Town centre on the A647 to Queensbury and Bradford.
Car Parking, Lecture Room, Disabled Access, Toilets, Shop
Boothtown Road, Halifax, UK HX3 6HG
10:00 AM - 04:00 PM