The museum re-opened in 2004 following extensive renovation and houses a well-presented, comprehensive collection of objects associated with the County Regiment of Suffolk. The displays tell the story of the regiment from its foundation in 1685 to amalgamation with the Royal Norfolk Regiment in 1959. The history covers the regular, militia, volunteer and war-time battalions as well as the experience of individual soldiers and is told through medals, uniforms, photographs, weapons, equipment and personal memorabilia.
There is also a small regimental display at Moyse’s Hall Museum in Bury St Edmunds.
The Regimental Archives are held by the Bury St Edmunds branch of Suffolk County Records Office, Tel 01284 741212.
Royal Anglian Regiment, The Suffolk Regiment, 12th (or East Suffolk) Regiment of Foot, 12th Regiment of Foot, Duke of Norfolk’s Regiment of Foot, Cambridgeshire Regiment TA.