About the Museum

The Collection is displayed within the Museum of Liverpool on the waterfront. The City Soldier’s Gallery looks at the story of The King’s Regiment from 1685 to present day. There is also a special exhibition focusing on The First World War and the connection to Liverpool and The King’s Regiment. The displays are an eclectic mix of uniform, images, personal items and material collected from the regiment’s extensive postings around the world. Visitors can read about individual soldiers and their families, listen to extracts from diaries and letters or perhaps leave their own Remembrance message in our visitor feedback area.

Visitors interested in researching their ancestors’ army career can view the on-gallery, First World War database, containing details about many of the soldiers who served with the regiment. Some of the collection archive, including the Battalion War Diaries and regimental histories, can be viewed without appointment (the details can be found on the website listed on the right). The majority of the archive material is not on display and can only be viewed via appointment with the curator Karen O’Rourke. Due to staff and storage issues, access to this archive material is currently very limited.

Regiments

King’s Regiment (Manchester and Liverpool), King’s Regiment (Liverpool), King’s (Liverpool Regiment), 8th (or the King’s) Regiment of Foot, King’s Regiment of Foot, Queen’s Regiment of Foot (or Webb’s Regiment), Princess Anne of Denmark’s Regiment of Foot.

Facilities

Coach Parking
Car Parking
Restaurant/Cafe
Toilets
Lecture Room
Shop
Disabled Access
Education service

Opening Times

Daily

Daily 10am - 5pm.

Admission

Free

Address

Pier Head, Merseyside, L3 1DG

Tel 0151 478 4065

Web
www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk/mol/visit/

Visiting Advice

Situated within the Museum of Liverpool. Full directions on how to get there can be found on the museum website listed on the right.

Limited disabled parking available.