About the Museum

The museum, located within Fort George, reopened after refurbishment to visitors at the end of March 2013. It houses the Queen’s Own Highlanders Collection which is the private collection of a number of antecedent regiments with an association to Fort George for over 235 years. The museum comprises a unique collection of Gallantry Awards and Campaign medals, uniforms and accoutrements, weapons, paintings and prints, colours and pipe banners, mess plate, ceramics and other artefacts covering the history of the regiments as far back as 1778.


The museum also has a comprehensive library and archive collection to which researchers are welcome and this includes original sources and published material of Fort George. Research can be undertaken by appointment, please telephone 0131 310 8703 or click here for further details.


72nd (Highland) Regiment of Foot or (The Duke of Albany’s). 78th (Highland) Regiment of Foot or (the Ross- shire Buffs). 79th (Cameronian Volunteers) or Cameron Highlanders. Seaforth Highlanders. Queens Own Cameron Highlanders. Queen’s Own Highlanders (Seaforth and Camerons). The Highlanders (Seaforth, Gordon’s and Camerons). 4th Battalion The Royal Regiment of Scotland Lovat Scouts Liverpool Scottish Overseas affiliated regiments 51st Highland Volunteers.


Coach Parking
Car Parking
Lecture Room
Disabled Access
Education service

Opening Times

1 April to 30 September

9.30am - 4.45pm.

1 October to 31 March

10am - 3.15pm.

Closed at weekends, December and January.


Admission charge is to Fort George
Adult: £9.00
Child (5-15): £5.40
Concessions: £7.20

Groups & schools: by appointment


Fort George, Ardersier, IV2 7TD

Tel 0131 310 8702


Visiting Advice

12 miles east of Inverness.