About the Museum

Firing Line Museum is an accredited museum that celebrates the Welsh soldier over a period of 300 years; a time which saw ordinary Welshmen travel the world, carrying out military service at battles such as Waterloo (1815) and Rorke’s Drift (1879), and more recently in Iraq and Afghanistan.
Using hands-on and dressing up activities, informative permanent and temporary displays and educational events, the museum stands as a testament to the extraordinary contributions made by ordinary Welshmen to their Regiments (1st The Queen’s Dragoon Guards and The Royal Welsh), to history and to Wales. The collection covers the history of services of the 41st and 69th Regiments of Foot from 1719 until 1969 when The Welch Regiment amalgamated with others to form The Royal Regiment of Wales and in 2006 became The Royal Welsh. The 41st Foot was originally formed of Out Pensioners from the Royal Hospital Chelsea and titled Sir Edmund Fielding’s Regiment of Invalids. In 1787 the title Invalids was abandoned and the 41st became a marching Regiment of The Line.

In 1881 it was joined by the 69th Regiment of Foot and became The Welch Regiment. The joint exhibition also includes the regimental collection of 1st the Queens Dragoon Guards. This reflects the long history of Wales’s only regular cavalry regiment, 1st The Queen’s Dragoon Guards which began its formal existence on January 1st 1959, this being the day when the 1st King’s Dragoon Guards was amalgamated with the 2nd Dragoon Guards, better known as the Queen’s Bays.

Regiments

The Royal Welsh, Royal Regiment of Wales, The Welch Regiment (41st/69th Foot), 41st (The Welsh) Regiment of Foot, 41st Regiment of Foot or Invalids, 41st (Royal Invalids) Regiment, Colonel Fielding’s Regiment of Foot, 69th (South Lincolnshire) Regiment of Foot. 1st The Queen’s Dragoon Guards, 1st King’s Dragoon Guards, 2nd Dragoon Guards (Queen’s Bays), 2nd (Queen’s) Dragoon Guards, 2nd or Queen’s Regiment of Dragoons, 1st of King’s Regiment o Guards, Queen’s or 2nd Regiment of Horse, Queen’s Own Royal Regiment of Horse, Princess of Wales’s Own Royal Regiment of Horse, King’s Regiment of Horse, 2nd Horse, 3rd Regiment of Horse (Peterborough’s).

Facilities

Coach Parking
Car Parking
Restaurant/Cafe
Toilets
Lecture Room
Shop
Disabled Access
Education service

Opening Times

Daily

9am - 5pm including Bank Holidays.

Closed

Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Day.

Admission

Admission charges are included in Castle entry fees.

Adult £12.50
Child £9.00 (under 5s free)
Senior or student £10.95
Family £37.00

Address

Museum of the Welsh Soldier, Cardiff Castle, Cardiff, CF10 3RB

Tel 029 2087 3623

Web
www.cardiffcastlemuseum.org.uk

Visiting Advice

City centre location near railway stations, bus services and car parks.