The Cameronians, formed in 1881 from the merger of the 26th and 90th Regiments of Foot, have a unique facet to their history being the only regiment of the British Army to have a religious origin. Raised from Covenanters in 1689 the collection includes objects from the Covenanting period and from every major campaign in which the Regiment served until it disbanded in 1968.
The Regimental museum collection is now housed in the Low Parks Museum, administered by South Lanarkshire Leisure and Culture Trust on behalf of South Lanarkshire Council. Some exhibitions are also available online: click here.
The museum does not hold records relating to individual soldiers apart from officers index cards which outlines the service details of officers from 1689-1968. We also have First and Second World War battalion war diaries which are fully transcribed, a large photographic collection (mainly unnamed)and some personal diaries.
Cameronians (Scottish Rifles), 26th (or Cameronian) Regiment of Foot, 26th Regiment of Foot, Earl of Angus’s Regiment of Foot, 90th Light Infantry Regiment Perthshire Volunteers, 90th Regiment of Foot (or Perthshire Volunteers), 90th Perthshire Light Infantry, Lanarkshire Volunteers, Militia and Yeomanry Units.