Border Regiment & King's Own Royal Border Regiment Museum
How to get there:
Located within the Inner Ward of Carlisle Castle, the Museum relates the history of Cumbriaís County Infantry Regiment, the Border Regiment (34th & 55th Foot) and its successor The Kingís Own Royal Border Regiment, local Militia, Volunteer and Territorial Army units from 1702 to the present day. Wide ranging displays on two floors include uniforms, weapons, equipment, medals, silver, pictures, memorabilia, and a recreated WW1 trench and other dioramas. The Castle, founded in 1092, is a superb medieval fortress owned by the Crown and maintained by English Heritage. It can boast almost continuous military occupation for 900 years and preserved within its walls are the nineteenth century barracks and military buildings used by The Border Regimental Depot from 1873 to 1959. The museum has extensive archives. Family history and other enquiries are welcome, personal callers preferably by appointment. For detailed research a minimum donation will be sought.
Duke of Lancasterís Regiment (Kingís, Lancashire & Border), Kingís Own Royal Border Regiment, Border Regiment, 34th (Cumberland) Regiment of Foot, 34th Regiment of Foot, Lord Lucasís Regiment of Foot, 55th (Westmoreland) Regiment of Foot, 55th Regiment of Foot, 57th Regiment of Foot (Colonel George Perry),, Royal Cumberland Militia, Cumberland Militia, Royal Westmorland Light Infantry Militia, Westmorland Militia, Cumberland & Westmorland Rifle Volunteers, Cumberland Artillery.
Tel: 01228 532774